Skilled Migration Visa program has been introduced by the Australian government to overcome skill shortages in Australian labour market. There are a number of skilled migration visa options available for skilled-workers who plan to migrate and work in Australia.

To be eligible for these categories of visa, applicants must:

  • Be under 50 years of age
  • Have an occupation listed on the Combined Occupations List
  • Have obtained a positive skills assessment for the nominated occupation
  • Have competent English (at least 6 points in each of the 4 bands of the IELTS taken not more than 3 years before the date of visa application)
  • Meet points test mark.

Skilled Migration Visa Categories

Each visa category has different requirements and obligations. The following visa categories are subject to point test.

Skilled-Independent Visa-Subclass 189 

This visa is for skilled workers who are not sponsored by an employer, a state or territory, or a family member.

Skilled-Nominated Visa-Subclass 190 

This visa is for skilled workers who are nominated by a state or territory government.

Skilled-Regional Sponsored (Provisional) Visa-Subclass 489 

This visa is for skilled workers who are nominated by a state or territory or sponsored by an eligible relative living in a designated area in Australia. This visa is valid for four years.

The following visa categories are not subject to the points test 

Skilled-Recognised Graduate Visa-Subclass 476 

This visa is for the applicants completed an Engineering Degree at a recognised overseas institution in the last two years. This visa is granted for 18 months for applicant to gain work experience.

Temporary Graduate Visa-Subclass 485 

This visa is for international students who studied in Australia and was graduated with skills and qualifications that related to an occupation on the Skills Occupation List. Applicants must be in Australia when they apply for this visa and when their visa is decided. This visa is granted for 18 months.

Skilled-Regional Sponsored Visa-Subclass 887 

This visa is for eligible provisional visa holders who are currently residing in Australia and have lived for at least two years and worked for at least one year in a Specified Regional Area in Australia.